Why Drinking and Driving is Never a Good Idea

Drinking and Driving | Mike Lewis Attorneys

 

“I feel fine to drive.”  Have you ever said that or heard someone else say it?  Be careful, it’s a trick.  When you first start drinking (in life, not on a particular night) you have mental tolerance and physical tolerance.  Mental tolerance is how it impairs your judgment and reaction times.  Physical tolerance is how you feel and whether you slur your words or continue to walk straight.  Your physical tolerance increases WAY faster than your mental tolerance.  So while you FEEL fine and APPEAR fine, your JUDGMENT is still all whack-ado.  I think this is the main reason people get DWIs.  Because you feel fine.  And you appear fine to those around you.  As your physical tolerance increases you can feel just fine at a .15 so you are tricked into thinking you are safe to drive.

Also, counting drinks doesn’t really work.  First off all, your body doesn’t process a drink an hour (a common belief) if you are drinking fast or once you get to a certain BAC.  That “drink an hour theory” only works if you are: 1) Drinking at the pace of one drink per hour; 2) Don’t exceed three drinks; or 3) The bartenders are actually pouring standardized drinks (less likely at a bar where you are a regular and/or a good tipper).

So what’s the safer bet?  Stick to a one drink limit, call a cab, or use (real) designated drivers.  It’s not worth the risk.  A DWI can cost you upwards of $10,000 between legal fees, court fees, community services fees, lost time from work, transportation fees, insurance increases, et cetera.  If you have four drinks in a night, and it ends in a DWI, you will have paid approximately $2,500 per drink.  And it could be even worse. If there is a child under 16 in your car, it is MANDATORY jail time and likely DSS involvement. Lastly, if you have to live with the guilt of hurting someone in the process, the money will be the least of your worries.

 

Call 866-299-1769 or use the Free Case Evaluation form to schedule a free consultation.
  • How To Know If Your Workers’ Comp Claim Was Wrongly Denied

    How To Know If Your Workers’ Comp Claim Was Wrongly Denied

    Workers’ Compensation Attorneys Can Help With Denied Claims After an individual has been injured on the job, they could be eligible to receive workers’ comp benefits. Yet, in some cases, an injured worker’s claim may be denied, leaving them to …Read More »
  • The Most Accident-Prone Industries To Work In

    The Most Accident-Prone Industries To Work In

    Injured In an Accident? North Carolina Workplace Accident Lawyers Can Help Back in 1970 when Richard Nixon was president, Congress passed an act entitled “Occupational Safety and Health Act,” that was meant to enforce safety in the workplace. Since the …Read More »
  • Can I Be Fired For Seeking Workers’ Compensation?

    Can I Be Fired For Seeking Workers’ Compensation?

    North Carolina Workplace Accident Lawyers Handle Compensation Claims According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor and Statistics, “More than 11 million people work in natural resources, construction, and maintenance occupations.” While these jobs tend to be more hazardous than others, …Read More »
  • Who Can Be Excluded From Workers’ Compensation Coverage?

    Who Can Be Excluded From Workers’ Compensation Coverage?

    Hundreds of thousands of employees across the nation every year take advantage of workers’ compensation coverage to help them get through serious accidents they suffer in the course of their job duties. Whether it’s an accident with heavy machinery, repetitive …Read More »
Call Us Toll Free 866-299-1769