Things You Should Know Before You Get Hurt on the Job

Whether you have been injured on the job or not, now is the time to make sure your work offers proper workers’ compensation and to come to understand what workers’ comp can do for you. According to a recent article, in 2015, the Industrial Commission, who are responsible for enforcing workers’ compensation laws, collected nearly $1 million in fines from uninsured companies and charged 100 North Carolina employers with misdemeanors for willingly going without coverage for their employees. Here are some things you should know about North Carolina workers’ comp:

  • Companies with at least three employees must offer free workers’ comp insurance to employees. Full-time as well as part-time employees count toward this number. There are a few exceptions to this rule, including employees of certain railroads and some farm laborers, when there are fewer than 10 full-time, non-seasonal laborers regularly employed by the same employer.
  • Even if a business only has one employee, if that employee works with radiation, the company is also required to carry valid workers’ compensation insurance.
  • If your employer does not have proper workers’ comp insurance, you can report them to the North Carolina Industrial Commission Fraud Department.
  • If you are injured on the job, to ensure you get covered by workers’ comp, report the injury right away to your employer. Written notice of the injury should be given to your employer as soon as possible after the injury and should be done within 30 days at the most. If you are unable to provide this written notice, a friend or family member can do it for you.
  • You will not be compensated for the first seven days of lost wages unless your disability exceeds 21 days.

Understanding workers’ compensation insurance can be confusing if you do not deal with it on a regular basis. If you are seeking free legal advice concerning your workers’ comp claim, we encourage you tocontact us. A qualified lawyer will provide you with a free evaluation of your case and will help you understand your workers’ comp rights.

Call 866-299-1769 or use the Free Case Evaluation form to schedule a free consultation.
  • How To Know If Your Workers’ Comp Claim Was Wrongly Denied

    How To Know If Your Workers’ Comp Claim Was Wrongly Denied

    Workers’ Compensation Attorneys Can Help With Denied Claims After an individual has been injured on the job, they could be eligible to receive workers’ comp benefits. Yet, in some cases, an injured worker’s claim may be denied, leaving them to …Read More »
  • The Most Accident-Prone Industries To Work In

    The Most Accident-Prone Industries To Work In

    Injured In an Accident? North Carolina Workplace Accident Lawyers Can Help Back in 1970 when Richard Nixon was president, Congress passed an act entitled “Occupational Safety and Health Act,” that was meant to enforce safety in the workplace. Since the …Read More »
  • Can I Be Fired For Seeking Workers’ Compensation?

    Can I Be Fired For Seeking Workers’ Compensation?

    North Carolina Workplace Accident Lawyers Handle Compensation Claims According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor and Statistics, “More than 11 million people work in natural resources, construction, and maintenance occupations.” While these jobs tend to be more hazardous than others, …Read More »
  • Who Can Be Excluded From Workers’ Compensation Coverage?

    Who Can Be Excluded From Workers’ Compensation Coverage?

    Hundreds of thousands of employees across the nation every year take advantage of workers’ compensation coverage to help them get through serious accidents they suffer in the course of their job duties. Whether it’s an accident with heavy machinery, repetitive …Read More »
Call Us Toll Free 866-299-1769