If you’ve been injured in an accident in North Carolina, you’ll be in the market for personal injury attorneys.
However, what you may not be aware of is the fact that there is a statute of limitations that you have to follow. In other words, you only have a small amount of time from the time you get hurt that you can actually file a suit against the party that injured you.
Here are some other things you need to know about the statute of limitations in North Carolina.
- The actual statute of limitations in the state of North Carolina is three years. That means, you have three years from the date of your injury to file a complaint against the party that injured you.
- There are three places you can file your complaint: small claims (which is when the damages are $5,000 or less), district court (which is when the damages are between $5,000 to $10,000), and superior court (which is when the damages are greater than $10,000).
- You can request two different kinds of damages: compensatory (such as the loss of wages, medical expenses, and damaged property), or punitive (“pain and suffering”). There are limits on the amount of punitive damages that you can sue for.
Of course, these are just a few of the many things you will need to consider when you’re injured…and to navigate these admittedly-difficult legal waters, you will need to consult with an experienced personal injury attorney. For more information about us and our services, contact us today to see what we can do for you.