Disfiguration

In North Carolina, workers’ compensation benefits cover disfiguration which occurs as the result of a workplace accident or injury. Employees that suffer disfiguration injuries may be unable to achieve gainful employment because of their injuries, or at the very least may suffer discrimination because of their disfiguration.

In order to qualify for benefits from workers’ compensation because of a disfigurement, there must be scars on the head, face, neck or hands. As compensation for the harm that was done to the worker on the job, a one-time payment is made and it may be combined with other forms of compensation, such as SSDI, lost wages, medical expenses, etc.

If you or a loved one was disfigured because of your job, you could be eligible for compensation. At Mike Lewis Attorneys, our goal is to be the advocate you need while dealing with your disfiguration claim, and we will always fight for the MAXIMUM amount of compensation due to the victims of workplace injury.

To find out how we can help, simply fill out the “Free Case Evaluation” form located at the top of this page, on the right. There is no obligation and it is completely confidential— the review is 100% FREE.

Types of Disfiguration Injuries

Injuries in the workplace are not an uncommon event, especially for dangerous occupations. The United States Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that in 2011 there were almost 3 million nonfatal workplace illnesses and injuries nationally, and disfigurement can arise out of a multitude of occupational dangers.

Some of the most common types of disfiguration injuries include:

  • Burns resulting in scarring
  • Deep lacerations
  • Facial scarring
  • Loss of arm
  • Loss of eye or eyes
  • Loss of leg
  • Mutilated torso
  • Portion of limb lost
  • Severed finger or fingers
  • Severed toe or toes
  • …and many others.

The claimant must show that the disfigurement hinders their ability to maintain steady and gainful employment, in which case an award of monetary compensation may be issued to the injured worker.

North Carolina Workers’ Comp Notice to Injured Workers

Under North Carolina law, any worker who is injured or falls ill on the job should report it to their employer immediately, in which case the employer must take action in order to be in compliance with state workers’ compensation requirements.

Perform the following steps in order to file a workers’ compensation claim for disfiguration:

Employee

  • Report the injury immediately to the employer
  • Submit written notice within 30 days
  • File a claim with the Industrial Commission and provide the employer with it
  • Contact insurance if medical treatment or compensation are not provided promptly
  • Seek legal counsel to ensure your claim will be filed correctly and approved

Employer

  • Provide employee with prompt medical services
  • Report the injury to insurance and file with the Industrial Commission if the employee misses more than 1 day of work
  • Under the Workers’ Compensation Act, ensure that compensation has been paid promptly

The physical pain a worker will endure during an episode that results in their disfigurement can be excruciating and impossible to imagine, which is why it is vital to report and treat any workplace injuries as quickly as possible. Valuable time may be lost if there is any hesitation, and the victims of workplace disfiguration must act quickly to salvage what they can of their health.

Our North Carolina Disfiguration Attorneys Will Fight for Your Rights

Having won over $10 MILLION in settlements and successful verdicts for our clients, the legal team of Mike Lewis Attorneys has the experience to handle your workplace disfiguration claim. Because our legal team works on a contingency fee basis, you pay nothing unless we win a successful verdict or settlement for you.

With offices in Winston-Salem and Greensboro, NC, we are proud to serve clients in the follow areas:

  • Mountain View
  • Tobaccoville
  • Lewisville
  • Walkertown
  • Kernersville
  • McLeansville
  • High Point
  • …and most other surrounding towns and suburbs of these areas.

To find out more, simply contact us at 866-299-1769 – our principal office is located in Winston-Salem and we are licensed to practice law throughout the entire state of North Carolina.

For more help, please fill out the “FREE CASE EVALUATION” form to the right.