Statute of limitations is defined as the period of time at which an individual may file a lawsuit after an event that has caused an injury(s).
In the case that an individual fails to meet the deadline, they may forever lose their right to recover compensation for damages and losses of which they have suffered. Of course, there are some influential factors that may extend the deadline such as the age of the victim. Additionally, the statute of limitations may not begin until a hidden injury has been uncovered.
As a result of this deadline, our attorneys suggest that it is imperative for individuals, or family members of those who have been injured, to contact a personal injury attorney directly following the accident. At Mike Lewis Attorneys we have achieved millions in successful verdicts and settlements for our clients and will seek the maximum compensation for your injuries in the court of law.
For additional information, complete the “Free Case Review” form on this page – It’s 100% free.
Determining NC Statute of Limitations
When trying to determine when your opportunity to file a lawsuit will expire, there are certain steps that an individual may take. These steps are outlined by each state, so our North Carolina statutes of limitations are different than other states in United States.
- Determine the date of the injury or when it was discovered.
- Determine whether the statute of limitations has been tolled. This means if certain circumstances existed, the limited timeframe could be different.
- Determine which type of action you have such as; personal injury, auto accident, medical malpractice, workers compensation, or product liability.
- Find the precise statute of limitations. Most North Carolina limitation time periods can be found under Chapter 1 – Article 5 – Limitations, Other than Real Property.
Furthermore, our attorneys would be happy to assist you in determining if you have passed your opportunity to file a lawsuit by simply contacting us at 866-299-1769 or completing the “Free Case Evaluation” form located on this page.
North Carolina Statute of Limitations
As previously mentioned, each individual state has a separate set of statute of limitations, thus it is important to determine the limitations which have been set in your particular state. The following provides some common causes of action for the state of North Carolina; the limitations are as follows:
Medical malpractice injuries must be filed within three years of the date of injury or two years after the injury was, or should have been discovered. A medical malpractice action cannot occur after four years following the last act giving rise to an injury.
- Personal Injury
Personal injury actions must be brought within three years of the date of which the injury occurred by a negligent individual. These actions cannot be filed over 10 years following the event of which the injury occurred.
- Product Liability
Product liability actions caused by product failure or a defective product cannot be filed over 12 years after the date of which the product has been purchased.
- Wrongful Death
Wrongful death actions must be brought before two years following the date of which the death occurred.
- Limitations for Minors
A minor must file suit within the limitations following his or her 18th birthday. These cases exclude medical malpractice and wrongful death.
If you require further assistance determining if you have sufficient grounds to file a suit, our attorneys will gladly assist you.
Contact Our North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers Today
At Mike Lewis Attorneys, our personal injury attorneys want to help you if you have been injured due to the negligent action of another individual. Our law firm is highly respected throughout North Carolina and the United States for helping injured victims receive the compensation benefits they deserve.
In addition, our attorneys are only paid when we achieve a positive verdict or settlement and you collect.
With our main office located in Winston-Salem, along with having relationships with law firms throughout North Carolina and the United States, we are able to help injured victims wherever they may be.
Some of the local Winston-Salem areas we serve include:
For more information about our law firm, or to schedule your free no-obligation case evaluation, we encourage you to contact us today at 866-299-1769 where a member of our team will immediately begin collecting information about your injury and connect you with one of our caring attorneys ready to handle your specific case.
Start here by filling out the “Free Case Evaluation” form on this page – It’s that simple.