Lost Wages

Being injured in any type of accident can cause a number of problems especially when those injuries interfere with your employment. Whether you were injured at work, on our roads or due to general negligence of another person, you may be entitled to compensation for your lost wages.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, more than 908,000 injuries and illnesses caused workers to miss days at work. On average workers missed 8 days of work in 2011.

Recovering lost wages may help those who are seeking compensation for days out of work, days missed due to injury recovery time, hours missed to attend doctor appointments, and more. Persons who suffered certain injuries may only be able to return to work part-time and other times they may not be able to return to jobs they previously had.

The loss of work wages impacts not just injured, but also their family. Loss of work hours and wages can lead to difficulty paying for housing and providing food, paying for other expenses, and possibly even the availability of healthcare coverage.

Each year millions of individuals suffer from various types of personal injuries, many of which require hospitalization which results is lost workdays. If you’re a loved one has been injured in an accident and are seeking legal counsel about lost wage recovery, our attorneys may be able to help.

To receive a free case evaluation, fill out the ‘FREE CASE REVIEW’ form to your left and one of our attorneys will review your information right away.

Documenting Lost Wages

When a person is injured in an accident, the person should focus on recovering from their injuries. However, a severe injury could mean weeks and possibly months out of work and thus more stress on the injured individual.

It is very important that anyone who has missed work or work opportunities document the time gone by if they are considering seeking legal counsel for lost wage recovery. Proper documentation can assist in the recovery of the compensation they deserve for time away from work.

The North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act requires an employee to provide their employer with notice of an injury within 30 days of the injury.

Those injured in an accident should also keep the following paperwork and documentation on hand:

  • Days missed
  • Meetings missed
  • Paycheck stubs
  • Proof of disability income
  • Employer notes
  • Doctor’s notes
  • Past and present medical records
  • Missed work opportunities

Employees should also be cautious of signing any paperwork they do not fully understand, a lost wage attorney can help you better understand what your rights are and our North Carolina injury attorneys can help guide you through the entire legal process.

Calculating Lost Wages

In North Carolina the amount of worker’s compensation an injured person may receive could depend on the injury and how much the individual earned before the injury.

It may be difficult to calculate exact lost wages and employers or employees may need to provide the following information:

  • Average work hours
  • Gross income
  • Job title and responsibilities
  • Amount of time employee missed as a result of the accident

If an individual was scheduled to receive an annual raise or promotion and the opportunity was missed, an employee may wish to note that as well.

Contact our Lost Wages Attorney Today

Having to deal with an injury shouldn’t be something you have to face alone, and our attorneys are ready to stand in your corner if you’re seeking to recover lost wages you believe you’re entitled to.

With more than 150 years of combined experience our lawyers at Mike Lewis Attorneys have helped several clients in their worker’s compensation claims and many more who have suffered from serious personal injuries at the hands of negligent parties.

We have offices located in Greensboro and Winston-Salem, North Carolina and are dedicated to helping those in further surrounding areas, such as:

  • Columbia Heights
  • Ardmore
  • Waterwood
  • Fisher Park
  • Clinton Hills

…and many more towns and cities. Contact us toll-free at 866-299-1769 to get your case evaluated at no-obligation and at no-cost by one of our experienced attorneys.

You may also reach us online by simply filling out the ‘FREE CASE REVIEW’ form at the top left hand corner of the page – it’s 100% free and strictly confidential.